Did you know? Android versions are named after confectioneries and follow an alphabetical order

Android versions

“Someone at Google has a sweet tooth”.

Well, that’s what a Quora user said and Ryan Gibson might just be the “someone” because he conceived the confectionery-themed naming scheme for Android versions.

Let me tell you a little story before i go on to the names…

Android development started way back in 2003, but Google wasn’t in charge then. It was originally developed for digital cameras until Google acquired it in 2005 and switched the focus to cellular phones. The beta version of the Android mobile operating system was released in November 2007. Version 1.0 came in September 2008 and had no code name. Version 1.1 followed in February 2009 with no code name still.

So, the “confectionery-themed” code name thing started in April 2009 with the release of Android 1.5.

Let’s take a look at the different Android versions and their code names

Android 1.1 –

Android 1.2 –

Android 1.5 – Cupcake

Android 1.6 – Donut

Android 2.0/2.1 – Eclair

Android 2.2 – Froyo (short for frozen yoghurt)

Android 2.3 – Gingerbread

Android 3.0/3.1/3.2 – Honeycomb

Android 4.0 – Ice cream Sandwich

Android 4.1/4.2/4.3 – Jelly Bean

Android 4.4 – KitKat

Android 5.0/5.1 – Lollipop

Android 6.0 – Marshmallow


Android 7.0 – N……………..


It’s not known yet what Android 7.0 will be called, until Google let’s the cat out of the bag. For now, some people think it might be called Nutella, Nougat, …………….

What do you think Android 7.0 will be called and which of the confectioneries do you like most? Give your opinion in the comments.


Image credit: Youtube




Ukeme likes to keep things simple and believes that tech doesn’t really have to be complicated. She is also a web designer and loves to learn new things.


Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

x Close